27 local students to attend GSE, GSP, GSA


Chart by Owensboro Times

A total of 27 students will represent local high schools at Governor’s School for Entrepreneurs 2022, Governor’s Scholars Program and Governor’s School for the Arts.

Governor’s School for Entrepreneurs

The only local student selected to participate is Bella Skibba, a sophomore at Daviess County High School.

Through a three-week residential experience at Northern Kentucky University, GSE participants are equipped with the tools and skills to start and grow their own businesses, are introduced to Kentucky’s most successful entrepreneurs and fastest growing businesses. faster and are matched with complementary qualified peers to develop business. plans and prototypes of products or services. GSE’s annual intensive program concludes with a pitch competition attended by a broad audience representing Kentucky’s entrepreneurial ecosystem.

Governor’s Scholars Program

The list of participating students is as follows:

  • Michael Gray – AHS
  • Preet Patel – AHS
  • Campbell Clark – DCHS
  • Chloe Sims – DCHS
  • Andrew Stevens – DCHS
  • Maggie Stuart – DCHS
  • Luke Taylor – DCHS
  • Kayla Thomson – DCHS
  • Chloe Benson – OSH
  • Camille Divine – OHS
  • Mya Kelly – OSH
  • Jaxon Eric – OSH
  • Michael Gray – OIA
  • Hadley Corley – OCHS
  • Brooke Hamilton – OCHS
  • Tom Kurtz – OCHS

The Governor’s Scholars Program is a residential summer program for Kentucky’s most outstanding students as they complete their freshman year of high school. This program provides academic and leadership growth in a challenging, non-traditional experience that balances a strong liberal arts curriculum with a full co-curricular and residential life experience.

Governor’s School for the Arts

The list of participating students is as follows:

  • Micah Sagar – DCHS, Architecture and Design (also visual arts substitute)
  • Ty Nally – DCHS, creative writing
  • Ella Fogle – DCHS, Drama
  • Lillie Self-Miller – Apollo High School, Theater
  • Emma Stephens – DCHS, instrumental music (brass)
  • Zakkary Moseley – DCHS, musical theater
  • Nathaniel Trogden – DCHS, Musical Theater (also Vocal Music Substitute)
  • Sut Hting Pauhkum – OHS, instrumental music (violin)
  • Scarlet Head – OHS, Instrumental Music (Flute)
  • Ava Wiggins – OHS, instrumental music (cello) (also musical theater substitute)

The Governor’s School of the Arts offers three weeks of intensive instruction to high school students in nine different arts disciplines: Architecture and Design, Creative Writing, Dance, Theatre, Film and Photography, Instrumental Music, Musical Theatre, Visual Arts and Vocal Music .


About Author

Comments are closed.