K-State Wins Super 11 Award for Third Consecutive Time

MANHATTAN, Kan. –The Kansas State Athletics Communications Office has been honored for a third straight season and fourth time since 2015 by winning the Football Writers Association of America’s (FWAA) 2021 Super 11 Award, the organization announced Thursday.

The honor, which is based on media accessibility, relations and media operations, has been awarded to FBS sports news teams every year since the end of the 2009 season.

“The 2020 and 2021 football seasons presented unprecedented challenges for all of us, but some sports news services worked with coaches and players to go above and beyond and ensure the media could do their job. and providing fans with the information they’ve been craving,” said David Ubben, FWAA 2022 President. “It allows all of us to have jobs, and we appreciate these departments for providing that access while ensuring that the media and members of football programs stay safe. College football is better and thrives when sports information departments are able to provide as much access as possible.”

The Assistant Athletic Director for Communications leads the office for Wildcat football matters. ryan lackey and Executive Assistant Director of Sports for Communications/PR Kenny Lannou. Other department staff who have worked primarily with football throughout the 2021 season include the video producer Preston Koernerdirector of creative media for football Emilie Starkey and head of football graphic design Ron Cook.

Additional in-season support was provided by the Director of Men’s Basketball Communications Thomas GilbertAdministrative Officer Mary GormanAthletics Communication Assistant Alissa VolanteDirector of Creative Services Director Emily McMillancreative writing and content specialist D. Scott Fritchenstaff photographer Scott Weaver, former full-time staff members Jay Moline and Scott Retzlaff, and numerous student assistants.

K-State was joined on the 2021 Super 11 list by Clemson, Colorado, Iowa, Louisville, Miami, Ole Miss, Navy, Nebraska, New Mexico and South Carolina. The 2021 Super 11 Coach of the Year was Boston College head coach Jeff Hafley.

FWAA members have provided input throughout the season and provided feedback as part of an FWAA awards survey after the 2021 season. Super 11 award winners are considered by observers of the FWAA as having had excellent accessibility during game week and after the game with media availability of the program’s players, head coaches and assistant coaches. Additionally, the press galleries were judged on how well they were run and maintained in terms of neutrality, pool of journalists and noise level that could affect a journalist’s ability to do their job.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America is made up of journalists, broadcasters, publicists, photographers, and key executives in all areas of college football. The FWAA strives to govern media access and game day operations while presenting awards and honors, including an annual FWAA All-America team.


About Author

Comments are closed.